President’s Research Fund (PRF)

The President’s Research Fund (PRF) supports projects that have a strong potential for obtaining external funding for SLU investigators. The funds are used to collect preliminary data for a new or related project, and also support cross-disciplinary projects to maximize collaborations across departments and schools at SLU.

Awards of up to $50,000 will be awarded, with a total amount of $125,000 allocated to the PRF in the School of Medicine for each cycle. Applications are accepted twice a year, in May and October, and are for a period of one calendar year. Information on changes to the funding deadlines and amounts can be viewed here: PRF Email.

For the Spring 2015 cycle, only full-time, tenure and non-tenure track faculty members in the School of Medicine may submit an application as PI or Co-PI. One application per deadline may be submitted. In accordance with the recent federal award policy change, previously unfunded PRF applications may be resubmitted an unlimited number of times.

To learn about the criteria used to evaluate internal proposals, please review our Internal Awards Peer Review Form.

  • Two Annual Deadlines: October 31 and May 15
  • Spring 2015 forms: PRF GuidelinesApplication Package, and Subrecipient Form.
  • The deadline for the Spring 2015 application cycle is Friday, May 15, 2015 at 5:00 p.m.
  • Applications must be submitted through eRS.
  • Questions? Contact Emily Beck in the Office of Research Development & Services (ORDS) at 977-7742 or via Email.

Award recipients for the Fall 2014 application cycle will be announced soon.

For the Spring 2014 cycle, 26 applications were received and over $1 million total in grant money was requested.

Spring 2014 President’s Research Fund Awardees



Research Project

Yuna Ayala, Ph.D. Biochemistry & Molecular Biology “Characterizing the role of TDP-43-RNA interactions in preventing protein aggregation”
Yie-Hwa Chang, Ph.D. Biochemistry & Molecular Biology “Develop a novel quantitative MALDI-MS method to monitor cellular proteolytic events”
Adam J. Gehring, Ph.D. Molecular Microbiology & Immunology “Personalized immunotherapy for chronic hepatitis B virus infection”
Jane McHowat, Ph.D. Pathology “Lifestyle risk and breast cancer progression”
Gul N. Shah, Ph.D. Internal Medicine-Endocrinology “Mitochondrial carbonic anhydrases and microvascular disease”
Debra H. Zand, Ph.D. Pediatrics “A pilot study of ‘Primary Care-Stepping Stones Positive Parenting Program’ (PC-SS Triple P) with parents of children newly diagnosed with autism”
A list of previous awardees can be viewed here: Previous Awardees.

Internal Study Section
Peer-review for NIH and NIH-type applications prior to submission.
RPC sponsored seminar series.
Funding Opportunities
Internal and external funding opportunities and listing of grants and awards to investigators at SLU.